1910 – Malmö FF is founded.
1931 – Malmö FF wins division 2 and is promoted to Allsvenskan.
1944 – Malmö FF wins the Swedish Championship for the first time.
1958 – The FIFA World Cup is played at the newly opened and municipally owned Malmö Stadion (the home ground of Malmö FF between 1958 and 2008).
1962 – Bosse Larsson, the greatest and most important player in Malmö FF’s history, makes his debut, 18 years old.
1975 – Eric Persson, one of the greatest leaders of all time in Swedish football, resigns as chairman after 38 years.
1979 – Malmö FF reach the final of the European Cup (today’s Champions League), narrowly losing it to Nottingham Forest 0-1.
1985 – Roy Hodgson is appointed as manager and goes on to win the league title with Malmö FF in five consecutive seasons, a unique record.
2001 – Zlatan Ibrahimovic leaves Malmö FF for AFC Ajax.
2009 – Swedbank Stadion, Malmö FF’s brand new stadium, opens.
2014 – Malmö FF qualify for the Champions League group stage.
2015 – For the second year running, Malmö FF qualify for the group stage of the Champions League.
2017 – Malmö FF wins the Swedish Championship for the 20th time.
2022 – Malmö FF wins their fifteen Swedish Cup after penalties against Hammarby IF.


1979 is an important year in Malmö FF’s history. It was the year when we reached the final of the European Cup (today’s Champions League) as the first, and so far only, Scandinavian club to do so. On the road to the final we defeated highly respected clubs: Monaco, Dynamo Kiev, Wisla Krakow and Austria Vienna. The final was played on May 30th at the Olympic Stadium in Munich against Nottingham Forest. Unfortunately, the game ended with a loss, as Trevor Francis headed the only goal of the game, but it is still celebrated as the greatest achievement in the club’s history.


Malmö FF have been the forerunner of Swedish football in many aspects. We were the first Swedish club to introduce youth teams, a part of the club that has grown from its humble beginnings to today’s fully-fledged youth academy.

Furthermore, already in the very early years of the club, Malmö FF recognized the importance of playing against international opposition and went on a number of foreign tours. There have also been many international managers at the club. Among the most prominent are Spaniard Antonio Duran (1964–1971), and Englishmen Bob Houghton (1974–1980) and Roy Hodgson (1985–1989). Hodgson holds a unique record by winning the league title in all of his five years as manager.

Last but not least, in 1989, we were the first club in Sweden with a complete squad of full time professional footballers.


By far the most famous player originating from our youth academy is Zlatan Ibrahimovic. Other former players in top European clubs include Patrik Andersson, Jonas Thern, Martin Dahlin, Stefan Schwarz, Daniel Andersson (who is now the Sport Director of Malmö FF), Markus Rosenberg (who is back at the club), Emil Forsberg and Robin Olsen. Going even further back in time, the list extends to Bo Larsson, Mats Magnusson, Robert Prytz, Kjell Rosén, Calle Palmér, Stellan Nilsson and Nils-Åke Sandell. Of course, there are also numerous top players who played before the globalization of football and who remained in Malmö throughout their entire careers.

Malmö FF honours

Swedish champions: 22 times
1944, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1953, 1965, 1967, 1970, 1971, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1986, 1988, 2004, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2020, 2021.

League champions: 5 times
1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989

(In those years, the championship was decided by a play-off.)

Swedish Cup titles: 15 times
1944, 1946, 1947, 1951, 1953, 1967, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1978, 1980, 1984, 1986, 1989, 2022.

Swedish Super cup: 2 times
2013, 2014

International records
Finalist in the European Cup (today’s Champions League) 1979
Finalist in the Intercontinental Cup (today’s FIFA Club World Cup) 1979
More points than any other club in the Intertoto cup

Svenska Dagbladet’s Bragdguld 1979 (award for the best achievement in Swedish sport)

Seasons in the top Swedish league:

Biggest victories in Allsvenskan
12-0 vs Halmstads BK (June 3, 1943) and vs Jönköpings Södra (May 26, 1949)

Highest attendance
29,328 versus Helsingborgs IF at Malmö Stadion (September 24, 1967)
24,148 versus Mjällby AIF at Swedbank Stadion (November 7, 2010)
22,436 versus Helsingborgs IF at Malmö Idrottsplats (June 1, 1956)

Most games in Allsvenskan
Krister Kristensson 348 (1963–1978)

Most goals in Allsvenskan
Bo Larsson 119 (1962–1966, 1969–1979)

Top scorers in Allsvenskan
Ove Andersson (1939), Ingvar Rydell (1950), Bo Larsson (1963, 1965, 1970), Dag Szepanski (1967), Lasse Larsson (1987), Martin Dahlin (1988), Peter Ijeh (2002), Niklas Skoog (2003)

All-time table Allsvenskan
1 (3,324 points before the start of 2016 season)